What's New?
Drums And Wires reissue - buy it now!
Last update: 23 October 2016
The Archives
What's New?
Buzzcity Talking
This World Over
About Us

Top Headlines

October 17, 2016: It's here, the one you've been hankering for. Steven Wilson produced these mixes with the input of founder band member Andy Partridge and the full approval of the band. This CD/Blu-ray edition is presented in special packaging with an expanded booklet and sleeve-notes by Andy Partridge, Colin Moulding and Dave Gregory.
  • CD features the 2016 Steven Wilson stereo album mix plus four bonus tracks mixed by Steven Wilson.
Blu-ray features:
  • A 5.1 Surround mix in 24bit/96khz mixed from the original multi-track tapes available in LPCM and DTS HD MA.
  • The 2016 stereo album mix in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio.
  • Four additional songs from the album sessions in stereo and 5.1 mixed by Steven Wilson.
  • The original (uncorrected polarity) stereo album mix in hi-res stereo, plus 1 non-album track.
  • The original (corrected polarity) stereo album mix in hi-res stereo.
  • Instrumental versions (mixed by Steven Wilson) of all 2016 mixes in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio.
  • A complete alternate album in demo form (as per Todd Rundgren's original suggested running order based on the demo recordings).
  • Numerous additional demo and work tape sessions showing the evolution of the album and associated recordings.
  • Promo films for Dear God and Grass.
Treat yourself, or someone you love.
Little World CD - Allyson Seconds with Anton Barbeau
March 30, 2016: Allyson Seconds has just launched a Kickstarter campaign for her Little World album. The songs on it are written by Anton Barbeau, and they've got that Colin Moulding singing harmonies on the title track. Whereas Anton had to get his courage together to approach Colin to play on his Magic Act album, Colin quite enthusiastically volunteered to sing on Allyson's track. Allyson, like Anton, is a huge XTC fan and is still in the pinching-herself stage. They're currently finishing up a video for the song, trying to work out details with Colin's dog, Pip. For the moment, please take a look at this and help out if you're so inclined! Thanks very much!
Andy Partridge contributes to Good Times!
February 12, 2016: According to The Monkees Live Almanac, “Andy Partridge of XTC, a lifelong fan of The Monkees, took to Twitter to show his excitement for Good Times! ‘The Monkees gave me SO MUCH joy as a kid, it's all I can do to repay it. They are liking 3 of my tunes so far, and I hope they dig the latest?’ Partridge's “You Bring the Summer’ is another lock for the album.” Yes, it's true, the new album from The Monkees is called Good Times! It will be released on June 10, 2016, by Rhino Records, and it will feature songs written by Andy Partridge, Rivers Cuomo, and Noel Gallagher, among others, and will be produced by Adam Schlesinger. It's “. . . about recapturing that 1960s jangly guitar sound. . .”
It's a Complicated Game
December 8, 2015: 31 March 2015 will see the publication of Complicated Game - Inside The Songs Of XTC by Andy Partridge and Todd Bernhardt. Developed from a series of interviews conducted over many months, the book details Andy Partridge songs from throughout XTC's career and provides a unique insight into the work of one of Britain's most original and influential songwriters. Filled with anecdotes about Partridge, his XTC bandmates, and the band's adventures around the world (all told with Partridge's legendary humor), Complicated Game casts new light on the writing of lyrics, the construction of melodies and arrangements, the process of recording, and the workings of the music industry. The book includes pages from Partridge's songwriting notebooks, reproductions of his original artwork designs, a guide to Andy Partridge's Swindon and a foreword by Steven Wilson. All pre-orders sold through Burning Shed/APE come signed by Andy Partridge.
Steven Wilson's remix of XTC's ‘Oranges & Lemons’
August 16, 2015: 16th October [update: delayed until 30th October -- Ed.] will see the release of Oranges & Lemons, the third in a series of remixed & expanded XTC classics. The album has been mixed from the original studio masters by Steven Wilson with input from Andy Partridge, and is fully approved by XTC. The CD features a completely new stereo album mix, while the Blu-Ray features a wealth of content, continuing the “virtual box set on a single disc” concept of the first two releases in the series:
  • 5.1 Surround album mix in 24bit/96khz available in LPCM and DTS HD MA
  • a new stereo album mix in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio
  • instrumental versions of all new stereo mixes in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio
  • a flat transfer of the original stereo album mix in 24bit/96khz LPCM audio
  • 2 separate sets of demo & work tape sessions showing the evolution of the album and associated recordings
  • 1 set of pre-recording rehearsals, promos & ID links for radio stations & record companies
  • a collection of single mixes & XTC's version of Captain Beefheart's “Ella Guru”
  • promo films for “The Mayor of Simpleton” (3 versions), “King for a Day” and “The Road to Oranges & Lemons’, a rarely seen home-made film by the band explaining the album (and themselves!) to Geffen Records USA.

Presented in special packaging with expanded booklet and sleeve-notes by Andy Partridge, Colin Moulding & Dave Gregory.

Other News

February 19
Roberto Serrano Bazán shared a link: “The Dukes of Stratosphear – XTC's bizarre side project”.
January 31
Matt Henderson shared a link: “My Favorite Album #185 - Mark Hart (Crowded House) on XTC ‘Drums and Wires’ (1979)”.
January 29
Toshiyuki from Japan made a Bass tab for “That's Really Super, Supergirl”.
January 21
Roberto Serrano Bazán leads us to ‘LOOK LOOK,’ The XTC Home Video Companion in Dangerous Minds, but he can't make us think.
January 16
Boing Boing features a review of Complicated Game: Inside the Songs of XTC. ¶ Tunetribe features “Podcast 96: XTC”, an interview with Andy Partridge.
December 17
Marshall Gooch reviews Complicated Game: Inside the Songs of XTC.
December 11
Melanie Bouchard is happy to contribute “Light! Camera! XTCion!” from Trouser Press, January 1981.

Recent Site Updates

February 24, 2017: Discography - Steven Wilson: [new album], Andy Partridge: Powers; Songs - Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 9 (Monitors)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 8 (Palace)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 7 (Star)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 6 (Hothouse)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 5 (Transmitter)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 4 (Pebble)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 3 (Outpost)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 2 (Dissolver)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 10 (Rogue)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 1 (Earthlight)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 12 (Darkness)", Andy Partridge: "Powers Track 11 (Needle)"; Albums - Andy Partridge: Powers
February 19, 2017: Press - “The Dukes of Stratosphear – XTC's bizarre side project”, Getintothis, February 17, 2017
January 31, 2017: Press - “My Favorite Album #185 - Mark Hart (Crowded House) on XTC ‘Drums and Wires’ (1979)”, Mr Jeremy Dylan, January 26, 2017
January 29, 2017: Songs - XTC: "That's Really Super, Supergirl"